What are we about?

Simply we try to get involved in every aspect of running and Athletics and welcome all ages and abilities. If you just want to jog to keep fit – fine, if you want to try your hand at throwing or jumping in track & field athletics – fine, if you’ve got delusions of grandeur (who hasn’t?) and want to compete in the higher echelons of the sport – fine. Is that all possible within a single club you ask? There’s only one way to find out and that’s to try it and see. Here we demonstrate the depth and variety of our activities by listing our achievements both individually and in team competition – National and International titles and our own Bingley Harrier Club Records speak for themselves.

Club Records

The club’s oldest surviving record is held by one Helmut Eberlein who, in 1972, hurled the discus some 50.38 metres. Although several of our number have come close we are still waiting for our first four-minute mile.
View the Bingley Harriers Club Records

Roll Of Honour

There are many from Bingley who have competed in international competition, in all aspects of the sport. The first Bingley Harrier to represent his country was David Humphreys in 1957. He is pictured here with the Fowler Shield he won that year as Club Champion.
View the Bingley Harriers Roll of Honour

Team Successes

Competing as part of a team is a particularly rewarding experience. Whether you’re one of the elite, chosen to jet off to a European Championship or as an essential piece of the Calderdale Way Z-team jigsaw.
View the Bingley Harriers Team Successes 

Individual Honours

Bingley has athletes who have won titles from the very young to the not so very young. Our members have enjoyed success at local, regional, national, international and even world levels.
View Bingley Harriers Individual Champions

Sydney Glover Trophy

The Sydney Glover Rotary Trophy was first awarded in 1972. It is presented annually by the President for the most outstanding performance of the year by a club member. The first to receive the award was Harold Frobisher for his javelin throwing prowess.
View the Sydney Glover winners